By Chairperson, Jane Dowling Porter ‘66

The classmates of the 1940’s, 1950’s, 1960’s and a very good representation from the 70’s and 80’s joined together for the sixth “All School Reunion” Saturday, June 18, 2022, at the Grady County Fairgrounds in Chickasha. All RSHS alumni, not only graduates, are always invited to participate in the fun and fellowship. In a short business meeting, the next “All School Reunion” plans are to meet on Saturday, April 12, 2025. We hope to see many more of our classmates at that time.

The festivities for the day began with registration at 10:00 a.m. which also included individual photos and lots of good visiting. A short business meeting was called to order at 11:30 a.m. Terry Beard offered the prayer before we enjoyed the noon meal provided by “Kleine‘s Catering.”

Brenda Pendley, Winter Melton, Summer Melton, and Carley Melton kept the guests moving all day taking group and individual photo shots.

A very big thank you goes out to Kari Porter and Kristi Smith Sylvester for manning the registration tables all day.

Classmates traveling the longest distance were: Gene Phillips ‘69, traveled 556 miles from Mississippi, Duane and Cheryl Rice (Rollow) ’72 traveled 781 miles from Indiana and Marla Meadows Hansen ‘81, traveled 1,112 miles from Michigan.

The reunion Memory Book that recorded the day’s activities is scheduled to be completed in August and can still be ordered for $15.00 by contacting Jane Porter, 1027 CR 1530, Rush Springs, Oklahoma 73082 or japorter@yahoo.com.  

Classmates and guests present for the days activities by classes were:

CLASS OF 1948– Mr. and Mrs. Melvin Heath, Rush Springs

CLASS OF 1949– Darrell Moody, Collinsville

CLASS OF 1950– Roger and Bobbie Starr Spencer, Denton, Texas; Leonard and Marge Richey, Bridgeport, Texas

CLASS OF 1951– Aaron Alan and Damian Decker, Oklahoma City

CLASS OF 1952– Chairman Neal and LaVonda Kirkpatrick Owens, Marlow; Don and Barbara Scott Dowling, Frisco, Texas; Ola Brown Edwards and Gary, Ferris, Texas

CLASS OF 1953– Johnny Morrow, Duncan; Johnny Files, Newcastle

CLASS OF 1954– Robert Kuntz and JoAnn McKinzie Dryden, Rush Springs and her granddaughter, Jami Dryden Graham, Ada; Joyce Sweat Ramer, Newcastle; Bonita Burnett Freeman, Chickasha

CLASS OF 1955– Max Dowling, Burkburnett, Texas; Dick Denton and son, Craig, Chickasha; Dorothy Skidmore Files, Newcastle; Shirley Roberts Shell and daughter, Katy, Roff; George Clark, Lawton

CLASS OF 1956– Gwen Meadows Dowling, Burkburnett, Texas; Larry Haynes, Cabot, Arkansas

CLASS OF 1957– Darrel and Pauline Haynes, Woody Meek and guest, Linda Chaffin all of Rush Springs; Ted and Connie Moody, Collinsville; Pearl Dodd Morrow, Duncan; Adrian Anderson, Cement

CLASS OF 1958– Kathy Patterson Haynes, Cabot Arkansas; Marie Pilgram Kuntz, Rush Springs

CLASS OF 1959– Chairperson, Betty Jo Anderson Murphy, Healdton; Loy Burnett, Lawton; Shirley Garner Meadows, Sandy Dunn Meek and Mary Bennett Story, all of Rush Springs; Gary Moody, Collinsville

CLASS OF 1960– Joe Leonard, Norman; Jerry Black, Oklahoma City; Jackie Green, Lawton; Lue Alva Blades Wright, Lindsay and Jim Coast, Marlow

CLASS OF 1961– Kay Landrum McElroy and Fern Bennett, Rush Springs; Verlon Coffee and James Sweat, Marlow; Sonny and Marge Landrum, Pottsboro, Texas; Shannon Gamble Cloud, Overbrook, Kansas

CLASS OF 1962–.Marvin Mills, Rush Springs; Marvin and LuLane Dutton, Bridgeport, Texas; Johnny Bentley, Newalla

CLASS OF 1963– Gene Coffee, Kirby and Kay Faulkner Smith, Robert Coxsey and Sharon Thompson, Edmond; Sharry Meadows Mackintosh, Duncan; Linda Caveny Spurlock, Don and Ruby Dunn and Glenda Varner Willis, Marlow; Helen Crow Hatfield, Chickasha; Glen Bentley, Rush Springs

CLASS OF 1964– Chairman Clifford Smith and Kristi Smith Sylvester, Chickasha; Claude and Carolyn Ballard Parnell, Rush Springs; Gary and Susan Dowling Tigert, Ardmore; Bill and Linda Meek, Shawnee; Charles Capshew, Owasso

CLASS OF 1965– Bill English, Carolyn Ballard Parnell, Becky Stewart Estes and Sheila Teel Crow, Rush Springs; Danny Pennington, Purcell; Bettenia Crittendon Baker, Ninnekah; Alice Spencer Hurry, Chickasha; Martha Jolley Morland, Guy and Sharon Wrenn Dunbar all of Edmond; Marquita Hutchens, Houston, Texas; Carrol and Linda Whitley Whaley, Newcastle; Rusty Levings, Oklahoma City

CLASS OF 1966– Co-chairs: Fran Lowry Edwards, Chickasha; Jane Dowling, Jack and Kari Porter, Paige Lawrence and Hank and Sandy Badertscher, all of Rush Springs; Doug and Karen Mills Bell, Duncan; Joe and Jackie Harris, Marlow

CLASS OF 1967– Joyce Levings Pennington, Purcell; Cheryl Eubank Anderson, Chickasha; Larry and Karen Caveny, Terry Beard, Jay Meek, all of Rush Springs; Ronnie White, Marlow; Jerry Lea Klingman Chambers and guest Patty Bennett, Frisco, Texas; Darlene Meek Jaro, Edmond

CLASS OF 1968– Steve Dowling, Edmond; Bobby Foster, Rush Springs

CLASS OF 1969– Jim and Ann Bentley, Hobart; Gene Phillips, Hattiesburg, Mississippi; Sam Pelley, Phillip and Shirley Clifton Robinson, Debbie Farmer Hayes and Shannon Scruggs Foster, all of Rush Springs; Pam Davis Burnett, Lawton; Gerald and Aquila Headley Helms and Carol Dowling McClure, all of Oklahoma City; Bob and Kathy Fisher, Luther; Jim and Ann Bentley, Hobart; John and Tammy Rutledge, West Plains, Missouri

CLASS OF 1970– Linda Foust Jarvis, Marlow; Dana Lawrence Stover, Rush Springs

CLASS OF 1971– Susan Rice Calvert, Tulsa; Kathy Loring White, Marlow; William and Marca Long Johnson, Rush Springs; Nancy Kuntz Johnston, Elgin

CLASS OF 1972– Duane and Cheryl Rice Rollow, Evansville, Indiana; Alan and Karla Lauderdale Bond, Yukon; Nick and Cindy Amstutz, Washington; Richard and Romy Caveny, Indiahoma; Kathy Nunn Glover, Warr Acers

CLASS OF 1973– Carla Moulder Gamblin, Tyler, Texas

CLASS OF 1974– Ralph Beard and Beverly Heilman Havins all of Rush Springs; Marvin and Dorothy Lauderdale Smith, Marlow; Sharon Caveny Smith, Mid West City

CLASS OF 1975– Brent Pitman and Starla Pelley, of Rush Springs; Janet Foust, Marlow; Cindy Leu Stump, Oklahoma City; Susan Lawrence Green, Edmond

CLASS OF 1977– Willis Keith, Norman

CLASS OF 1978– Waylon Smith, Marlow

CLASS OF 1979– Krista Meadows McKay, Norman

CLASSES OF THE 1980’S— 1980: Renee’ Hoover Payton, Sally Dennis Nichols, Lorie Bruner Dorman and Ronnie Dryden, Rush Springs; Cricket Chaffin Owen, Healdton; Nick Lewis, Newalla; Jerry Slawson, Cyril; Pam Keith Shephard, Lindsay; Kim Haney Hatfield, Lawton; Kelly Walker Nunn and Karla Dennis Shumway, Chickasha; Allen and Annette Dalrymple, Comanche; Sherri Wright Maxwell, Marlow; 1981: Marla Meadows Hansen, Midland, Michigan; 1983: Kevin McElroy, Oklahoma City; 1984: David Kuntz and Angie Crow Bewley, Rush Springs; 1986: Mark Meek, Marlow; 1987: Kim McElroy, Kelsey and Kaitlyn Cook, Flower Mound, Texas; 1989: Sharla Wright Holden and Sheila Wright Marcum, Lindsay.

The reunion committee wishes to thank all the RSHS alumni for making this a very special reunion in spite of all that is going on in our world today—we will never forget COVID. The next reunion in 2025 will again be open to any RSHS classmates. 


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: